513-554-1969 | 877-477-4192

Testimonials from Our Clients

Vonderhaar’s Catering provides a wide variety of menus, striving to meet our customers’ needs and ever changing culinary tastes while striving to be a catering leader in the region.

By utilizing the combined experience and knowledge of our culinary team, service staff and event planners while working in concert with our clients, we can provide our customers with the peace of mind that their event will be a definite and unqualified success. Best of all, through our efforts, we will allow you to be a guest at your own party. Of course we can tell you that about ourselves, but the real proof is what our customers and clients say about us:

5 Star Rating


Helped transform our wedding!

We’ve always been a fan of Vonderhaar’s Catering, so there wasn’t really a question when we decided to book them for our wedding. Now that the big day is over, I am so thankful we used them. Due to the pandemic, we changed our wedding drastically into a backyard wedding and cut our guest list from over 250 guests to just under 50. They were so flexible working with us to change the menu and secure all our rentals (tent, chairs, tables, etc.). On the day of, they pampered us with delicious food and excellent service! All of our guests had nothing but great things to say about the delicious Italian buffet and wonderful service. After the ceremony and before we left for photos, I was quite hungry, so they brought out some appetizers for us to eat since we would likely miss most of the cocktail hour – and remembered which one was my favorite! And when final call for drinks was announced, they knew my husband and my drink order and brought us out one final drink so we could stay dancing with our friends and family. I would highly recommend using them in the future for any catering needs, large or small. We’ll be turning to them next year for our anniversary party/postponed reception!


Ellie Coggins
, married on 05/09/2020

5 Star Rating


My husband and I used Vonderhaar’s for our backyard wedding reception and they were absolutely AMAZING from the start of the planning process to the very end of our reception night. They were so receptive to changes big and small that we had to make because of COVID-19. We went from a guest list of 350 at a country club to a guest list of 125 in my husband’s aunt’s backyard. They were professional, prompt and flexible throughout the planning process. I was AMAZED how they executed our hand passed hors d’oeuvres and plated dinner entrees. The amount of thought and precision that went into making sure everyone had their dish in a timely manner, especially those with gluten and/or allergy restrictions, appeared effortless. We received SO many compliments on all of our food selections. Special thank you to Don & Lori for all of your time and energy you put into making our day so incredible. From the bottom of our hearts, THANK YOU! I would highly recommend Vonderhaar’s to anyone planning a large or small wedding reception. You will not be disappointed!

Jessica & AJ Conway, married on 06/27/2020

5 Star Rating

Don Vonderhaar and his team could not have been better! Unfortunately, due to Covid restrictions, we had to adjust our plans 2 months before the wedding. Don managed our whole outdoor wedding reception and family picnic the next day. Our backyard was transformed into a magical setting…the layout, tent, lighting, dance floor was all perfect! The food was prepared on site and was outstanding! Our guests loved the food and could not wait for the picnic buffet the next day! The Vonderhaar team was extremely professional and went above and beyond.  

The staff took care of everything at our home. We did not worry about a thing the whole weekend! We truly were guests at our own party!

Julie , married on 08/08/2020

5 Star Rating


“In choosing a caterer for a wedding, it almost feels like buying a car. You feel like they will impress you with a shiny product, but when it gets to the details, they’ll stick it to ya! How disappointed we were that this was not the case with Vondehaar’s!

Cathy did a lot of research for various catering companies for our wedding and reception. We developed a short list and went shopping. The first catering company we met with was Vonderhaar’s. We met with Jan. Holy cow! This was supposed to be so difficult! It was anything but painful. We were so fortunate to have visited this company first.

Working with Jan, she was ALWAYS on top of changes with all details nailed down for contract updates. Jan responded quickly and was the main reason why we were happy to work with this company.

Then we tasted their food at our tasting session. Not only were we very impressed, but later at our wedding reception the guests had only compliments! We still (months later) have people telling us how good the food at our wedding reception was, and that it was the best they’ve had at any wedding!

Lori was the Vonderhaar’s Captain on the day of the wedding. Lori and the Vonderhaar’s staff were ultra professional, and the day ran smoothly with all details being covered.

At Vonderhaar’s the staff is extremely professional, the cooks make food above and beyond what you’d expect at a wedding reception, and the prices were very fair. Save time, pick this company for your event and enjoy your special day!”

Joe H.
06/20/2020

AMAZING food and service for a great price

5 Star Rating

 

“We spoke with and tried food at multiple caterers in the Cincinnati area, but when we tried the food at Vonderhaars we knew we found the one. The food was incredible, the staff were amazing, and the price was extremely reasonable. We got soooo many compliments about the food at our wedding, and Lori and Kelly went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and wanted in the planning process and throughout the day of the wedding. We can’t say enough good things about Vonderhaars and HIGHLY RECOMMEND you book them for any big event you’re planning, you won’t regret it.”

02/29/2020

5 Star Rating

 

Vonderhaar’s Catering Inc., is who you want to cater your wedding if you’re looking for delicious food and courteous staff! We had a buffet with a captains call for serving and everything went smoothly and guests were even allowed to go back for seconds which we appreciated so no food was wasted! In addition, we had some guests with severe food allergies and they were amazing in assisting us in accommodating their needs. Our guests with the food allergies told us they had never been to a wedding before where they could actually enjoy the food and how much that meant to them, which made us so happy! In addition they had amazing wait staff who went above and beyond to help us enjoy all aspects of our wedding outside of the food and drinks! Our waiter at the head table helped me bussell my dress when it came undone and I couldn’t find my sister, so sweet! Overall it was super easy to get in for tastings and to work with the staff to get exactly what we wanted. Great service and even better food! Would definitely recommend this catering company!

Lexie C.
01/25/2019

Wonderful Caterer

5 Star Rating

 

Vonderhaar’s Catering was an exceptional caterer for my wedding! Kelly Simpson was my coordinator to help organize everything from scheduling a tasting to the smallest of details that I may have overlooked. We had the special occasion pig roast for dinner at our wedding and a selection of passed hors d’oeuvres for cocktail hour. Every bit of the food was absolutely exceptional. The catering staff that worked the day of my venue were so polite and professional. One of the employees even brought my husband and I a glass of beer and wine while we were off doing our bride & groom photos after the ceremony. The staff were flexible when the cake cutting ended up being later than expected. Overall it was a wonderful experience to have Vonderhaar’s as my wedding caterer. I would highly recommend!

Tyler K.
12/01/2019

My Son’s Rehearsal dinner – Very happy

5 Star Rating

 

We hired Vonderhaar’s catering for my son’s rehearsal dinner. The staff was professional and polite. The food was great. Everything was what they said it would be. Their homemade tortilla chips were awesome. I loved being able to do a food tasting ahead of time.

Kathy G.
10/21/2019

Food & staff were amazing!

5 Star Rating

 

Everything turned out great! The food was amazing & the staff was more than helpful! It was so nice having the bartenders as well, they were great!

Kimmy H.
11/16/2019

 

Phenomenal service

5 Star Rating

 

I cannot day enough about Kelly Simpson and Vonderhaar’s Catering services! We utilized their services for our wedding reception and the food and service they brought to the table was absolute perfection! From the day we walked in for the tasting, through cleanup, I couldn’t have asked for anything better. I was even surprised when we arrived at the reception and the staff offered to make our plates for us- this was SO helpful considering I had a clingy 3-year-old on my hip because he had missed Mommy and Daddy with all the wedding chaos leading up to the day. We had a last minute location change for our reception too and just ten days before the wedding we were able to notify them and they adjusted quickly to help ease the stress for us. We will always recommend their services!! The food was so mouth watering and appreciated after a busy day!
Thank you all so much!!!

Tara
09/20/2019

Highly recommend!!

5 Star Rating

 

HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend! Vonderhaar’s catering was amazing! We hired them for catering and bar service for our wedding. They were responsive and flexible throughout the whole planning process. The day of the wedding they were on top of everything and such a joy to work with (they never added stress only took it away!) And of course most importantly the food was absolutely delicious.

Julie S.
09/24/2019

Great service, excellent quality, 5-star catering!

5 Star Rating

 

The service team is professional, attentive to detail and wants to serve the client’s needs exactly how they want. The food quality was phenomenal and the clean up process was smooth and non-invasive to the guests.

Amy L.
09/03/2019

 

Flawless service

5 Star Rating

 

Vonderhaar’s was perfect from the beginning. We had multiple dinners where we tried different dishes, we changed our guest count, changed the timeline, etc. Throughout everything they were professional and flexible. Most importantly, on the day of the actual event, they delivered on every aspect. Food was great, prices were great, service was flawless, staff was courteous. I could go on and on. Cannot say enough good things about Vonderhaar’s.

Peter B.
09/06/2019

Seamless service plus awesome food 

5 Star Rating

 

I can’t recommend them enough! I had flawless service from my initiating call to ask questions about certain menu options through the day of our wedding reception when the serving staff was on point with everything! Not to mention the delicious food! We chose 3 Cincinnati-themed menus, and Jan did an awesome job of putting together a quote—asking me all the questions I hadn’t thought of. The quote was broken out in great detail, so I knew exactly what I was paying. When I didn’t know who would be in charge of releasing tables for the buffet (whether it should be the DJ or Lake Lyndsay staff), Jan said Vonderhaar staff will take care of it. They did an awesome job setting up the buffet room, setting out/filling water glasses, and cleaning up the buffet tables at the end. They even kept refilling our Donut Bar table which was purchased from a completely different vendor! When they were getting ready to leave, the head server checked in with me to let me know and to ask if I needed anything else before they left.

Jill
08/26/2019 

Great food and professional service!

5 Star Rating

 

What a great experience! We used Vonderhaar’s for catering our wedding rehearsal dinner. They were incredibly prompt and professional in our planning conversations over the phone. Their food was very fairly priced, but I was blown away by the quality of it on the day of the rehearsal dinner. Many of the attendees went back for seconds, and the dessert bars were a hit! In addition, the service was incredible, and included set up and breakdown, as well as clearing our tables for us while we finished our meal. Highly recommend.

Lee R.
06/01/2019

Vonderhaar’s gave me peace of mind. 

5 Star Rating

 

We really enjoyed our appetizer service. Good variety and the service was smooth, polite and professional. Our buffet presentation was excellent. They took it down quickly as requested so we could prepare the dance floor at our venue.

They are dependable. Did what they said they would do, when they said they would do it. As mother of the bride I wanted to know great food was waiting for my guests and that I didn’t need to worry about it at all. 

Our desserts were replenished seamlessly. Questions in the moment were answered quickly. 

Aly
08/15/2019 

Working with Vonderhaar’s was an excellent experience.

5 Star Rating

 

From the first call to finalizing everything after our wedding, working with Vonderhaar’s was excellent. We worked with Jan throughout the process and she was quick to respond to phone calls and emails. We were able to do a tasting to make sure we liked everything we planned on serving and Jan worked with us on customizing the sides we had for our buffet. Jan explained the day of schedule and everything went as planned.

During the reception, everything went smoothly and we received a lot of compliments on the taste of the food, as well as, the service. They went beyond what we expected and helped create a fun display for our dessert table.

We’ve heard good things about Vonderhaar’s and they didn’t let us down.

Brian W.
07/04/2019 

Better than my expectations!

5 Star Rating

 

jan was amazing at understanding what we were looking for and was always available to update our order. on the day of the event cynthia and her team took awesome care of us as well as our guests!

Brandi
10/30/2018

Our Wedding

5 Star Rating

 

We are so happy that we had Vonderhaars cater our wedding! The bartender was great, and everyone loved the dinner! We had a pasta buffet, with salad and garlic bread. Everyone was extremely happy with the service and I would definitely recommend them to all of my friends getting married in the future!

Morgan
10/27/2018

5 Star Rating

 

This team was so exceptional and stepped in to help with any situation we had. They would check in with my now husband and I just to make sure we had everything that we wanted/needed all night. The bar was excellent with all of our guests and always professional. Would definitely hire these folks again.

Rebecca and Evan
10/21/2018